About Connecticut Pastel Society

About CPS

The Connecticut Pastel Society is a statewide fine arts organization with national outreach. CPS programs are funded and run by artists and their affiliates intent on increasing awareness of pastel as a fine art medium. The CPS organization has tax-exempt status and is, therefore, eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions.

THE CONNECTICUT PASTEL SOCIETY. INC. was first established in the early 1990s by a group of pastel artists headed by Roy Schmid. To view the aims stated in the charter read this pdf file.


The CPS organization offers many opportunities to get involved with the Society and is always looking for volunteers to serve in a variety of areas. Possibilities for involvement include helping to organize exhibitions or workshops, assistance with the receiving and pickup of artwork, membership administration, and fundraising. Serving as a volunteer is a good way to meet fellow artists, share information, and become acquainted with the functioning of a fine-arts organization. We welcome your interest and participation.

The CPS Board meets virtually via Zoom every eight weeks on the second Monday of every other month (the odd-numbered months) to discuss the direction and agenda of the society. If you would like to participate or simply attend, please see our Meetings/Events page for the next meeting date, which sometimes changes. All members and prospective members are welcome!

Connecticut Pastel Society Officers

President – Karen Suponski
Vice President – Steve Brunetti
Secretary – Jessica Turgoose
Treasurer – Heather Quay
Membership – Phyllis Phelps

Renaissance Show Chairpersons
– Steve Brunetti
– Elaine Juska Joseph
– Karen Israel

Member Show Chairpersons (annual non-juried member show)
– Mary Ann D’Ambruoso
– Marianne Berman 

Purely Pastel Show Chairperson (biennial – even years – juried member show)

Additional Volunteers:
Awards Chair – Pat Boes
Awards Co-chair – Mary Ann D’Ambruoso
Newsletter Editor – Leslie Stewart
Website Liaison – Vicki Rooney
IAPS Representative – Christine Ivers

Workshop Chairs
– Mary Ann D’Ambruoso
– Katy Despot

Scholarship Committee Chair

Signature Membership Jury
– Gigi Horr Liverant PSA-MP; IAPS-MC
– Liz Haywood-Sullivan PSA-MP; IAPS EP
– Deb Quinn-Munson PSA-MP; IAPS-MC