2007 Renaissance in Pastel Award Winners

Each year CPS hosts the National Exhibition
Renaissance in Pastel
Open to all artists nationally and internationally working in pastel. This year we are hosting the
14th (2007) Annual National Exhibition
in New Hartford, CT

Pastel Paintings Make a Strong Statement
at the West Hartford Art League

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”true” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”sort_order” animation_effect=”fadeIn” album_title=”false” album_id=”68″]

Hartford, CT — An array of landscape, still life, figurative and abstract pastel paintings bursting with intense color adorn the walls of the West Hartford Art League www.whal.org which is hosting the Connecticut Pastel Society’s 14th Annual “Renaissance in Pastel.”

During the Awards Ceremony today, Best in Show was awarded to New Milford, CT artist Rainie Crawford for her jewel like painting entitled “Papier Mache Doll with Yellow and Red II.” Second place CPS Founders Award went to Bethel, CT artist Alain J. Picard for his delicately rendered portrait of an African child called “Evelyn.”

The Art Spirit Foundation Dianne B. Bernhard Award went to Bronx, NY painter Sam Goodsell for his painting of a seated woman called “Inner Dance.” The CPS Presidents Award went to Crystal Lake, IL aritist William Schneider for his painting entitled “The Blacksmith.”

Thirty-four awards were presented among 114 artists juried into this annual national exhibition. The two awards judges were Washington state landscape pastel painter Susan Ogilvie, a nationally renowned artists and popular instructor and Vivian Zoe, director of the Slater Memorial Museum at the Norwich Free Academy.

The Connecticut Pastel Society is a statewide society with a national outreach. The group promotes and coordinates matters relating to the art of pastel painting and those artists who employ the pastel medium.

The exhibition runs until November 4, 2007. Gallery hours are Thursday through Sunday, 1PM – 4PM.


Award Winners

CPS Honor Award $500
#94 Robert K. Carsten: “A Painting About A Tomato”

Daler-Rowney Gift Certificate Award $500
#114 Jody Freeland: “The Power of Water”

Hunter Editions Award of Excellence $500
#43 Peter Seltzer: “Urban Archeology”

Richard Pionk Memorial Award $500
#111 Jerry Power: “Watering Cans”

Winsor & Newton Artist Pastel Box Award $448
#65 Rhoda Yanow: “Origami Man”

Terry Ludwig Pastels Award $400
#57 Diana DeSantis: “Lititia”

Jack Richeson Award $400
#31 Sangita Phadke: “Peppers”

Great American Pastels Master Class Set Award $300
#45 Rita Paradis Caldwell: “On the Cottage Stairs”

Artwork Essentials Merchandise Award $265
#26 Christine Bodnar: “Awaiting Solstice”

Jerry’s Artarama Cash Award $260
#27 Dick McEvoy: “Ferris Farm Idyll”

Canson MiTeintes Pastel Paper Award $200
#86 Marilyn St. Clair: “Mr. Fisher’s Place”

CPS Board of Directors Award $200
#37 Dan Slapo: “Solid Citizen”

Hackman Frames Gift Certificate Award $200
#96 Marion W. Hylton: “High Water”

Art Spectrum/Armadillo Art Merchandise Award $199
#54 Christine Labich: “Her Last Patch of Sunlight”

Allied Artists of America Award $150
#3 Leslie Lillien Levy: “Autumnal Fruit”

Pastel Painters of Maine Award $150
#7 Barbara S. Groff: “Bittersweet with Blue”

Pastel Painters Society of Cape Cod Award $150
#18 Gene Cadore: “Yellow Morning Woodstock, NY”

Salmagundi Club Award $150
#32 Frank Federico: “Afternoon Light”

Salter Award for Innovation $150
#47 Stephanie Vignone: “The Rose Garden in Summer”

HK Holbein Inc Award 48pc Pastel Set & Book $126
#53 Shauna Shane: “Siesta”

A.I. Friedman Gift Certificate Award $100
#82 Julie Friedman: “Sunday Morning”

Dakota Art Pastels Gift Certificate Award $100
#81 Mary Ann Warner: “Fall Orchards, Pa.”

E.J. Gliniecki Memorial Award $100
#60 Steve Linde: “Journey’s End”

Levy DeMedici Award $100
#33 Jean Dalton: “Emergence”

Pastel, Etc. – Girault 25 pc Green Set Award $100
#92 Tonya Carpenter: Kid’s Mural”

Pastel Society of America Award $100
#42 Anne Gable Allaire: “Foggy Evening, Maine”

Pastel Society of New Hampshire $100
#100 Mike Kolasinski: “Ice Edge”

Philip Danylik Memorial Award $100
#16 Melody Asbury: “The Next Generation”

Verilux Natural Spectrum Lamp Deluxe Award “100
#98 Jeanne Smith: “Study Break”